Vampires, Before and After Dawnguard (what's the deal?)

• Welcome to Skyrim Forums! Register now to participate using the 'Sign Up' button on the right. You may now register with your Facebook or Steam account!

Zolo-Shea

Lizard Wizard
Notice the lack of spoiler-prefix, yo! So, let me start by saying that yes, I'm sure this has been covered probably seven or eight times by now in these Dawnguard threads, but I've wandered through the Dawnguard-related thread lists--about three of them contained spoilers in the thread titles alone! So I use the thread search, and I'm looking for vampire-related information--talk about needle in a haystack! There is a serious following of vampire fans on here, lemme tell yas. Plus i'm a forum noob, which helps nothing.

On to my question! Is there a huge jump between a pre-Dawnguard vampire and a post-Dawnguard vampire-lord? Can I compare it to werewolfing? I'm back to playing Skyrim after a horrible 6-month hiatus (it was horrible.) I'm making a heavy-armor vampire mage, and I'd like to know about what to expect when I acquire a vampire perk tree. Should I be worried about downloading the add-on before I get too high level? Anybody got some links to share with me? I would appreciate any form of advice. Thanks!

Daedra'Mc'Bitch

Pre-Dawnguard has no vampire lord ability. Sure, you could get turned into a vampire, suck sleeping peoples' blood, and had certain advantages and disadvantages, but your form didn't physically change.

Vampire Lord is a form in and of itself, much like being a werewolf. And understand this, the vampire lord perk tree is completely separate from your normal perk tree. The default perk interface is replaced by the vampire lord version, which can be completely filled out without using your normal perks.

That said, you can get your level as high as you wish and place your perks anywhere.

Punz

Dark Lord of Skyrim