Just cant continue Mage.....

• Welcome to Skyrim Forums! Register now to participate using the 'Sign Up' button on the right. You may now register with your Facebook or Steam account!

XhoppX

First of all Hi, Im new to the forums and have been playing TES since Oblivion. I have 2 other characters and decided to try a straight up Mage. I chose an argonian because they seem to be the most customizable as far as their looks and i dont have an argonian yet either...anyway it has been a very difficult start with the College of Winterhold questline. My magic is weak as Im just starting out. I have never used a Mage in the past and maybe Im just not using everything properly. My question is...are Mages typically difficult to get started, or is it just me?

Well, Magic is definitely a backup in the very beginning, at least it is for me. The trick is not to spread across all the schools of magic, rather pick two, and excel in those. I find destruction and illusion particularly useful, as many probably do. Being an all-round character, I can't give much more help than that, just remember that...lightning magic is bad ass.

XhoppX

yes destruction is a no brainer...and i want my Mage to wear robes so ill definately need those armor spells that i believe are under alteration

ah, i see. I feel like going with robes would be nuttin' myself, because you have to give up a good many perks to alteration. But I forget that a pure mage won't need to level 1/2 handed or archery as much. Surely you'll level up one of the three crafting skills, I assume. Will you try and level up sneak or speech at all, or will you rush in, speels blazing? An alternate route to sneaking is leveling illusion and learning invisibility.

XhoppX