• Welcome to Skyrim Forums! Register now to participate using the 'Sign Up' button on the right. You may now register with your Facebook or Steam account!

LadySapphira

Hi everyone. I'm new to the game and was wondering if you guys could give me insight into dragon battles.

I'm playing on Adept, as a pure mage. This is my first real time playing skyrim/oblivion etc. I'm level 7, focused all perks into destruction but want to do conjuration too.

I have trouble killing dragons right now, I end up dying too quickly. I don't have a companion the me (do I REALLY need one? =X) and there's generally nothing I can conjure up to take any hits for me (yet). Am I doing something wrong? is there a trick? I can't seem to heal away the damage and keep getting hit by fire breath if I try to hit it with my fire spells (Firebolt, Flames). I just recently got firebolt so my aim could be a bit better but if I get too close the dragon kills me in about one breath - and even getting hits in I keep running out of mana/stamina/health just too fast.

Thoughts? xD

ps - I'm not going to lower the difficulty level. I can always run away just fine, and I have managed to kill 2 dragons I saw but there were innocent bystanders that took hits for me.

Necromis

well a couple of small things. Yes at lower levels it can help to have a companion to absorb some of the damage, or a summoned creature for the same reason. Secondly, remember a fire dragon has resistance to fire and weakness to ice, and the opposite is true, too. So if you are fighting a fire breathing dragon hit him with your cold/ice spells and your frost dragons with fire spells. The Antronch(sp?) stone will also let you absorb magic damage to use as magicka, but you lose the bonus from the mage stone for leveling.

FLeX BoZaCK