Same sex marriage legalized nationwide (US)

• Welcome to Skyrim Forums! Register now to participate using the 'Sign Up' button on the right. You may now register with your Facebook or Steam account!

Harc

Big Hog
Well my fellow Americans, as of June 26th, 2015, the Supreme Court has ruled in favor of same sex marriage, allowing same sex marriage in any of the 50 states. People happy, and people upset, what say you about the recent event in modern American History? As a heterosexual teenager, a Conservative, an atheist (I don't hate religion.), and as a future soldier, I believe that it is a great thing that love between the same genders is lawfully seen as love, though the whole involvement of religion makes me think hard about what the "separation of church and state" really means in the eyes of the federal government.

Harc

Big Hog
The seperation of Church and State is more literal (no pastors or such clergy in positions of power) but asking anyone to distance themselves from their opinions and biases is impossible.

But it is a good day, these days any progress is better than the backlog clog we usually have.
I'm sure problems will arise, we'll have to wait and see.

Mighty Pecan Pie

The secret American
@Skies is right.

In my view religion is something personal and should not be used in governing a country; "The bible/other holy book says: (read: what I interpreted) is X-subject. So we make a law to enforce/ban X-subject". I think that is also a violation of the separation of Church and State. Like the pastor in a position of power in the state.

I think the best example is the medieval times in Europe, when the Church was the most powerful organ in society. And to keep that from happening again, said separation is needed.

About the same-sex marriage thing, I heard on it the radio and I kinda cheered. Then followed by a thought: "About damn time". I'm surprised people are still upset about it, but I guess there'll always be people who just don't agree.