Do I forfeit Hjerim?

• Welcome to Skyrim Forums! Register now to participate using the 'Sign Up' button on the right. You may now register with your Facebook or Steam account!

Dragonsbard

Pretty sure the only way you can forfeit Hjerim is if the "Blood on the Ice" quest bugs out before you can finish it or if you join the DB and kill Nilsine Shatter-Shield as part of one of the quests.

I completed blood on ice and Nilsine still lives but I am at a loss to what quest I am missing. I have the key to the house but I am not Thane to the city, did not buy it, and do not know how to decorate it. I am new to the game and have only played it the past few weeks.

Captain Nagisus

Jake the Dog!
It's impossible to forfeit Hjerim. If you join the Dark Brotherhood or not, if you finish (or even start) Blood on the Ice or not. Just become Thane and you can have the house and decorate it. Simple. I accidentally forfeited the Necromancer's amulet (I still did the quest though, it was really glitchy and weird but I did it!) by clearing up the murderer's mess before I got the amulet.

IrishRanger

To buy Hjerim you need to do a bunch of quests for Ulfric's steward. I don't remember if you actually need to join the stormcloaks or not.You can't decorate a house until you own it and then , for Hjerim, through the steward. Having the key doesn't make you the owner.

Captain Nagisus

Jake the Dog!
To buy Hjerim you need to do a bunch of quests for Ulfric's steward. I don't remember if you actually need to join the stormcloaks or not.You can't decorate a house until you own it and then , for Hjerim, through the steward. Having the key doesn't make you the owner.

Or, alternatively, do the Civil war and you end up as Thane.

Just sayin'.

IrishRanger

Or, alternatively, do the Civil war and you end up as Thane.

Just sayin'.