Quest Cragslane Cavern keeps killing me

• Welcome to Skyrim Forums! Register now to participate using the 'Sign Up' button on the right. You may now register with your Facebook or Steam account!

Spryte

Hi there. Saw this question appear once when I searched for it, but it wasn't answered, so much as the person asking was provided with a list of different quests to help them progress in Riften without needing to beat Cragslane Cavern, whereas I do actually want to beat it.

So, anyways, it's my first time playing through Skyrim, and I'm doing the Skooma Trade quest, and Cragslane Cavern keeps killing me, though from what I've seen I should be sufficiently leveled enough to get through it.

A swift Google search seems to be suggesting it can be beaten easily enough at level 6, but at this point I'm level 16, and the enemies of the main room are still surrounding me and tearing chunks out of my health bar faster than I can take them down (i.e. once they start swarming they reduce my health bar from full to nothing in about 3 seconds).

I've tried a number of ways of beating them--power attacks, playing defensive with my shield and shouting whenever possible, stealthy archery tactics, and whatnot, and got closest to clearing things out by going werewolf on them (at which point after killing all the weaker ones, the enemy I assume was the boss of the area killed me in two swings of his weapon).

So... I don't know exactly. Is there's something I'm missing here, or am I perhaps still too low level to take on Cragslane Cavern? Any tips from folks who've done this before?

(I'm playing a sword & shield wood elf with light armor and lots of stealth, and am accompanied by Aela, if that helps anything.)