1. Welcome to Skyrim Forums! Register now to participate using the 'Sign Up' button on the right. You may now register with your Facebook or Steam account!
    Dismiss Notice

Can't finish the dark brotherhood quests due to freezing! HELP???

Discussion in 'General Skyrim Discussion' started by ShangTsung, Oct 30, 2012.

  1. ShangTsung

    ShangTsung Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    48
    Reputation:
    10
    Ok i'm about to pull my fl*ffin hair out, football spike my controller to pieces, and pawn this brand new xbox 360.. i'm nearing the end of the dark brotherhood quests where imperials storm the sactuary and you must hide in the night mothers coffin, on ps3 this started a cutscene but on 360 its freezing EVERYtime i get in the coffin! i've tried it over 20 times now! its NOT going to let me continue.. has anyone else experienced this issue??? is there a way to fix it? i am seriously starting to wonder where the rumors of Skyrim being better on 360 originated. how is it doing this on a BRAND NEW console??? how can it be the game when the ps3 version never once froze here!? i am both confused and pissed..

     
  2. MjolnirV

    MjolnirV xDoctor Bob

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    311
    Reputation:
    235
    I have that problem occassionally. It seems to work if you dont rush for the coffin
     
  3. ShangTsung

    ShangTsung Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    48
    Reputation:
    10
    i sat back for like 10 minutes after killing every last imperial in the sactuary before heading to the coffin and it still froze..
     
  4. MjolnirV

    MjolnirV xDoctor Bob

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    311
    Reputation:
    235
    Nazir would get into the room right? Ik its a long blackout without the freeze
     
  5. ShangTsung

    ShangTsung Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    48
    Reputation:
    10
    no, the guide button doesn't respond, when thats not responding the games locked up, i learned that from the ps3..
     
  6. MjolnirV

    MjolnirV xDoctor Bob

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    311
    Reputation:
    235
  7. ShangTsung

    ShangTsung Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    48
    Reputation:
    10
    yea i've been reloading a previous save.. hate to say it but its gotta be the console cause the game is brand new.. :sadface:
     
  8. MjolnirV

    MjolnirV xDoctor Bob

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    311
    Reputation:
    235
    I doubt its the console.
     
  9. ShangTsung

    ShangTsung Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    48
    Reputation:
    10
    don't see how it couldn't be, the console is new, the game is new, but even the ps3 version never had issues to this extent.. er go the console must be defective.. hell i've ONLY been playing the game for ONE month!
     
  10. MjolnirV

    MjolnirV xDoctor Bob

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2012
    Messages:
    416
    Likes Received:
    311
    Reputation:
    235
    Its called a bug for a reason. With the last patch it created an issue with the quest. You need to be patient and keep at it
     
  11. ShangTsung

    ShangTsung Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    48
    Reputation:
    10
    guess i'll just try it again from time to time, good thing this game is huge.. hope you're right.
     
  12. Storm777

    Storm777 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    20
    Reputation:
    5
    This happened with me and what I did to fix it was exit out of the hideout, fast travel to a town and wait 24 hours, then return. I tried everything else and it did not work for me. It would go to that stupid screen and I would leave the room for fifteen minutes and come back and nothing changed. Try what I did and it might work for you.
     
  13. Jersey Dagmar

    Jersey Dagmar Just in time for the fiyahworks show! BOOM!

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,258
    Likes Received:
    689
    Reputation:
    149
    This. Also, try clearing out the 360's system cache. I get a lot of freeze ups on loading screens and clearing out the cache usually fixes it. Remember, the 360 is a different animal than the PS3. Both can have similar issues or completely different ones.
     
  14. Storm777

    Storm777 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    20
    Reputation:
    5
    ShangTsung,

    BTW, don't feel up the Nightmother while in the coffin, I get the sense you might be tempted. Just say'n. :p
     
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  15. Eric Purplefrog

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    1
    Reputation:
    0
    And as others have said it takes a while, grab a sandwich and wait it out. I thought it was freezing too but it's not it's just a log ass cut scene.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  16. ShangTsung

    ShangTsung Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    48
    Reputation:
    10
    i have downloaded the game to the hd and i clean out the cache every damn time before i play... i'll try the fast travel and waiting 24 hour thing, hell i've tried everything else..
     
  17. Storm777

    Storm777 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    20
    Reputation:
    5
    It should work.
     
  18. K5mow

    K5mow Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2012
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    5
    Reputation:
    0
    Can you tell me how to clean out the cache on my PS3.

    Roger
     
  19. Storm777

    Storm777 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2012
    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    20
    Reputation:
    5
    ShangTsung,

    Any luck yet?
     
  20. ShangTsung

    ShangTsung Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2012
    Messages:
    454
    Likes Received:
    48
    Reputation:
    10
    at work at the moment, gonna try it again soon as i get home.
     

Share This Page

  • Like us on Facebook