1. Welcome to Skyrim Forums. You totally should register so you can experience everything our community offers. We have various resources related to Skyrim which include a massive array of Guides and Tutorials. If you're here just for the discussion you can check out our General Skyrim Discussion section or if you're here for help you can check out our Skyrim Help section. We also have the latest Skyrim News and fun stuff like Roleplaying and even a Skyrim Fan Fiction section!

    Are you here to discuss Dawnguard? You may discuss it by signing up and checking out this section.

    So if you love Skyrim you should join for sure. Click the 'Sign Up' button on the right to register your account. You can register with your Facebook or Steam account.

PC Serious scrolling/mouse wheel problem

Discussion in 'Skyrim Help' started by ElPhezo, Nov 24, 2011.

  1. ElPhezo

    ElPhezo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Reputation:
    0
    Just recently I was playing and something really weird happened. In Skyrim and only in Skyrim my scrolling on my mouse got really screwed up to where its either always scrolling up or always scrolling down. The menus have become almost impossible to navigate. I was just wondering if anyone else had this problem and how they dealt with it. I've unplugged my mouse, restarted Skyrim, restarted my computer, checked the settings in Skyrim for mouse scrolling settings (there are none that I found), and on top of that the scrolling on my mouse works fine in anything else, and it happens on any of my saves.
  2. Muneil

    Muneil New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Reputation:
    0
    Same here, i don't know what to do. It's very hard to play.
  3. Hexaltate

    Hexaltate New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Quebec, Quebec
    Reputation:
    0
    I have this same problem exactly and it makes the game unplayable. I'm using Win7 64bits and a Razer Naga.
  4. morte88

    morte88 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Reputation:
    0
    Good old Bethesda

    Don't expect a fix anytime soon. If there is one on the way it will probably break/replace the draugr with my little ponies or something equally stupid.
  5. Rayven

    Rayven Global Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    29,431
    Location:
    USA
    Reputation:
    561
    Hm. I have a Razer Death Adder (also running Win7-64bit) and I don't have any issues with the mouse scrolling like you guys have stated. Have you tried searching on Bethesda itself to see if there's a known hardware issue with this particular mouse model? Or maybe Razer's site? Do you have any specific mouse software installed? It doesn't seem like it should require some funky driver but.... who knows.
  6. Hexaltate

    Hexaltate New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Quebec, Quebec
    Reputation:
    0
    I'm using razer drivers and I can now tell it is a mouse wheel problem because when I de-activate it everything is fine. To do this you go either in your mouse driver software or you can try this if you don't have any specific software:

    • Like Like x 1
    Rayven likes this.
  7. Rayven

    Rayven Global Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    29,431
    Location:
    USA
    Reputation:
    561
    Thanks for the update, Hexaltate!
  8. Meanstreak

    Meanstreak New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Reputation:
    0
    Just an FYI, I play on a laptop and run into the same issues with my touch pad. I always have to quit and restart the game. I end up getting stuck in quests because I can't navigate the menus.

    I also had the same problem in Oblivion on my desktop, with a Logitech mouse.

    Extremely annoying. :mad:
  9. Zlorfik

    Zlorfik Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Dietikon, Switzerland
    Reputation:
    0
    I've got the same problem on my Laptop which runs Win 7 64bit. I tried 2 different (Logitech) mice and I get the bug with both of them. I doubt it is a hardware problem. Both drivers are up to date so software shouldn't be the problem either.
    It happened after not playing Skyrim for about a week in the companions questline. I doubt it is something from this quest as the bug applies to all save files. So the problem must be caused by Skyrim itself. What means that Bethesda is the one who needs to fix it.
    At the moment it is unplayable like this as you get stuck in almost every quest including dialogue...

    Hexaltate: What you're proposing is just deactivating the problem. But it's still there, it's not solved. And I'm using my mouse wheel also when not playing Skyrim so I will not deactivate it just for a game...
  10. Anthrax

    Anthrax Revenant of Shadows

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2012
    Messages:
    250
    Reputation:
    27

    Some things you can try:

    First in options disable controllers (i.e. Xbox, etc)

    Then in SpyrimPrefs.ini edit and change the line to bMouseAcceleration=0

    Then find and change the other one to this iPresentInterval=0
  11. Zlorfik

    Zlorfik Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Dietikon, Switzerland
    Reputation:
    0
    Thanks for that. I fixed it by deleting Skyrim.ini and SkyrimPrefs.ini
    I don't have any controllers and mouse acceleration was never a problem for me. the iPresentInterval may be useful though.
  12. Rayven

    Rayven Global Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    29,431
    Location:
    USA
    Reputation:
    561
    Just out of curiosity, what patch level of the game are you running?
  13. Zlorfik

    Zlorfik Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2012
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    Dietikon, Switzerland
    Reputation:
    0
    The most up to date which is 1.8.151.0. I'm running Skyrim on PC through Steam and have the option "always keep game up to date" enabled, so it should be the most updated version...

    Btw: After just some minutes it appeared again but this time I have a hint: As I'm playing on my notebook, I can unplug my mouse. It was unplugged when I started and while the game was running, I plugged it in. Next dialogue I had was already bugged. So maybe it has something to do with that?
  14. Rayven

    Rayven Global Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    29,431
    Location:
    USA
    Reputation:
    561
    I wonder... I always have my big mouse plugged in before I start the game and I've not had issues. Maybe in the startup, it needs to detect the extra mouse immediately or it has fits.

Share This Page