• Welcome to Skyrim Forums! Register now to participate using the 'Sign Up' button on the right. You may now register with your Facebook or Steam account!

Stormblade45

Scholar of Dwemer History and Culture
So, for a couple months now i've been searching for a medium end gaming computer. One that could run vanilla skyrim and other games well, but still have room for mods and other things. due to my laptop being ancient. i was just wondering if anyone could point me in the right direction or even suggestions :)

thanks in advance!

P.S. if i didn't put this thread in the right topic, super sorry! i'm still learning how to navigate the site lol!

Sah

giggles.............*gives Stormblade45 a blank map*.....tap 3 times with your wand & say, "I solemnly swear I am up to no good":p

Stormblade45 welcome to the Skyrim Forums

are you building it your self or getting a ready made PC?

this one has a modest rig, built it my self 3 years ago.......its my baby

CPU: i5 2500K

MOBO: ROG Maximus IV geneZ
VGA: GTX 660ti (ROG)
SSD: 250GB & 2TB HDD
PSU: 850W (silverstone)

this rig allows me to play Skyrim in Ultra settings easy,
I use over 25 active mods & can record @ 50fps with no lagging, BUT I drop from Ultra to the High settings.......card is working between 70 - 90% depending

I don't use any Environment Texture MODS........need a upgrade for that

hopes this one helped:)

Last edited:

shadowkitty

Mistress of Shadows
My knowledge comes form building custom rigs every day.
Unless you are into some serious gaming or work with graphics, web building, then don't let anyone tell you you need an i7.. it's serious over-kill.

i5CPU is fine. And depending on what you have available in your country, that will dictate what sort of motherboard, graphics card and ram you will use. I recommend an ASUS motherboard (Or a ROG - Republic of gaming).

Ram I recommend you have no less than 8GB. Don't cheap out on ram, buy the best brand. I personally use Kingston.