Xbox 360 n00b question - how do I use Scroll Spells without damaging myself

• Welcome to Skyrim Forums! Register now to participate using the 'Sign Up' button on the right. You may now register with your Facebook or Steam account!

RT2K

Please be gentle with me, not only am I am new here but I am new to the Elder Scrolls series and RPG's in general.

My problem is that everytime I attempt to use a Scroll spell, for example, Scroll of Blizzard or Scroll of Firestorm, I end up causing more damage to myself than to the opponent.

I am not exactly sure what I am doing wrong. I equip the scroll, then get it ready - it takes a little while to be fully ready for use - then aiming at my opponent I release the button. However, instead of unleashing a damaging blow to my opponent, I end up taking the brunt of the damage sometimes to immediate death with the more powerful scrolls. Also, my follower usually takes as much damage and if I survive the scroll spell, they then attack me and force me to kill him/her.

Obviously I am doing something wrong as the scrolls take no magic skill to use, I would assume it is an easy thing to do.

Can someone provide some guidance.

Much thanks for any help you can provide.

-RT2K

3v3r

I have scale-itch... Don't ask how I got it.
Scrolls aren't supposed to damage you. This is odd sorry I can't help.

RT2K

Thanks for the reply. That makes it even more confusing, I had just assumed I was doing it wrong. Some examples of the Scroll Spells I've tried:

Scroll of Blizzard - I activated it from my Items menu, it was in my left hand as a weapon. I charged it and aimed at the enemy and fired just like a weapon and the blizzard tore me to shreds immediately!