My Fortify Restoration Exploit experiment

• Welcome to Skyrim Forums! Register now to participate using the 'Sign Up' button on the right. You may now register with your Facebook or Steam account!

GrumpyBadger

Article Writer
Hey all

some serene music to listen to while reading this:
kept me from going insane working on this project

I thought I'd share this with the community as my first contribution. I'm an experimental archaeologist by profession, and it was only a matter of time before I started messing with my ultimate "crafter" Broc, and his abilities to make some pretty sweet armor and enchantments.

To start with, I don't condone "cheating" just to make something ludicrously easy. Broc's level 100 in smithing, alchemy, and enchanting all came from hard work and a cumulative of over 140 hours of gameplay. Also, on the other side of the coin - for roleplay experience, sometimes things can "help."

Broc is originally a light-armored two-handed warrior. He is a member of the Companions as well, and just your textbook good-natured "stick-jock."

For an additional 40 points in armor at the time, I removed Broc's sweet scaled armor and put him in GLASS... a NORD, warrior, and member of the Companions, in the elite armor of the Aldmeri Dominion, at a certain prominent member's funeral! OUCH... totally roleplaying killing.

This is where the fortify restoration exploit really comes in handy. But it also has a problem.

we all know now, that the resto loop exploit can make some absolutely ludicrous speed level potions. Armor and damage easily in the millions! Which also makes it not so fun, to me.

If you don't know about the fortify restoration exploit loop, please check this out:
if you'd like to see it, I really like this explanation. He explains it quite thoroughly, to where I could even follow it!

Yes, hitting a dragon, bare-handed ONCE... is awesome!! but only once for me, I could see it getting old really quick.