How to take pictures of my character

• Welcome to Skyrim Forums! Register now to participate using the 'Sign Up' button on the right. You may now register with your Facebook or Steam account!

Anouck

Queen of Procrastination
Hey everyone,
on the forums I often see screenshots people take of their characters. But these aren't "just" screenshots. They usually look very good and the characters that are in it are often even posing.

I recently decided to purchase Skyrim on pc - even though I already owned it on Xbox. I modded the game and am now interested in taking screenshots of my game. But I didn't succeed at finding the proper mods to make it happen. For some reason the animations just never work. I installed several programs to make it happen, but nothing worked out.

Could any of you explain me how to make this happen? I am new to the whole modding thing so I don't know much about it.

JoeReese

Hey Ano. For the screenshots, I believe steam uses F12 as a default. That's what it is for me, at any rate. What I usually do is put myself in 3rd person mode, hit ~ to open console, and type:

tfc 1

then ~ to close console. That will freeze everything around you in place, including spells in mid-cast, and allow you to spin the camera around yourself, or use it to fly around the local area. You can get some very nice action 'selfies' that way, or overhead scenes, etc.

When you're done, just open console and type:

tfc

and it will return to normal play. If, at first, you use
only the tfc (without the 1) then you still have the free camera, but it doesn't freeze the action around you. Typing tfc again sets that back to normal as well. I've found the best shots using the 1 afterward.

As far as posing goes, I've heard about pose mods, which let you position your character like they were posing for a portrait or group pic, etc. ,but I've never used them. I believe you'll find the majority of things on skyrim.nexus.com.

JoeReese