1. Welcome to Skyrim Forums. You totally should register so you can experience everything our community offers. We have various resources related to Skyrim which include a massive array of Guides and Tutorials. If you're here just for the discussion you can check out our General Skyrim Discussion section or if you're here for help you can check out our Skyrim Help section. We also have the latest Skyrim News and fun stuff like Roleplaying and even a Skyrim Fan Fiction section!

    Are you here to discuss Dawnguard? You may discuss it by signing up and checking out this section.

    So if you love Skyrim you should join for sure. Click the 'Sign Up' button on the right to register your account. You can register with your Facebook or Steam account.

How do I dismount a horse?

Discussion in 'General Skyrim Discussion' started by Hawst, Nov 21, 2011.

  1. Hawst New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Message Count:
    3
    Reputation:
    0
    I know this is a totally stupid newb question that I will get beat up endlessly for asking, But I am at the end of my patience.

    So, I got a horse... how do I get off the horse? lol
    Evina likes this.
  2. Kasha Active Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Message Count:
    216
    Reputation:
    4
    What you do is, walk up to it, kill it, then walk away. If your already on the on the horse and find that its crap and handles worst than a shopping cart, just run it towards anything that hates you, and hope that it kills it. btw are you playing on PC or Console?
  3. Deadhand PLEASE DON'T EAT THOSE SOCKS!

    Member Since:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Message Count:
    326
    Reputation:
    9
    A on 360, X on PS3, and I believe R on PC... Need verification on the PC though. Haven't gotten a horse on my PC copy. No worries about the question; I for the longest time didn't know the bumpers allowed for fast movement on the number scroll bars, when selecting a quantity or amount of time. Drove me nuts because I knew there had to be a way, and I didn't know how... Haha.
  4. Hawst New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Message Count:
    3
    Reputation:
    0
    Sorry, on an xbox 360
  5. Hawst New Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Message Count:
    3
    Reputation:
    0
    Any tips?
  6. Kasha Active Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Message Count:
    216
    Reputation:
    4
    A on a 360 but just avoid horses all together, you'll get there faster by running, plus they ride like they have rigor mortis
  7. Ebony Knight Lore Sword

    Member Since:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Message Count:
    616
    Reputation:
    20
    WHAAAAAATTT!?!?!?! I had no idea of this! lol

    Side note the only thing i really use my horse for is mountain climbing......and a distraction against dragon priests >:)
  8. Flamingtaco Active Member

    Member Since:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Message Count:
    562
    Reputation:
    3
    The same button as getting on it. Activate button. And don't avoid horses, they are much faster than running and the animations are some of the est horse animations in a game.
  9. Ozzy Osbourne New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Message Count:
    22
    Reputation:
    0
    Tried this and it doesn't work. 'E' activates and gets you mounted, but does absolutely nothing once you're astride. Looks like Kasha is pretty much bang on, unless anyone knows of a dismount method that actually works. I've had to dismount both horses I've ridden by walking them over cliffs.
  10. Panthera Don Gato

    Member Since:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Message Count:
    927
    Location:
    Southern Europe
    Reputation:
    51
    Like somebody before said it use the same button as you mount it. You are probablly next to some wall or something unable to dismount it... you need to have free space at side to dismount it.
  11. Teritus Giving it to you straight since 1869

    Member Since:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Message Count:
    841
    Reputation:
    95
    Horses are faster than running, unless you're super agile and have light armour. And they are VERY useful for mountain climbing.
  12. Gemini Sierra Pre-emptive Salvage Specialist

    Member Since:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Message Count:
    1,363
    Reputation:
    46
    Yup, the same way you mount the horse is the way you dismount. The activate key/button.

    I started riding horses on my adventures because they are faster in the sprint than I am. My poor follower must be hating me. LOL
  13. Panthera Don Gato

    Member Since:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Message Count:
    927
    Location:
    Southern Europe
    Reputation:
    51
    lol Don Quixote
  14. Ozzy Osbourne New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Message Count:
    22
    Reputation:
    0
    I'll try again, but I definitely tried away from any obstacles. I was cantering all around the outside of Whiterun hitting every button on my keyboard, including 'E', and the only buttons that did anything were a - s - d - w for direction and the space bar to rear and whinny. I'll experiment extensively later today and see if I can find anything that works, but I'm pretty sure I exhausted most options yesterday. Again, 'E' - the activate button - did not dismount me after numerous tries in numerous locations.
  15. Panthera Don Gato

    Member Since:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Message Count:
    927
    Location:
    Southern Europe
    Reputation:
    51
    I've changed controls... for me is "F" activating button and "space bar" for jumping... so I can't tell you what button really.
  16. Ozzy Osbourne New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Message Count:
    22
    Reputation:
    0
    I haven't changed a thing, all my settings are default. I'm gonna try 'R' again in case I somehow missed it and it works - but I'll be very surprised if this proves to be the case.
  17. Ozzy Osbourne New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Message Count:
    22
    Reputation:
    0
    Well apparently 'E' does work after all. I don't know why it wasn't working that time outside of Whiterun; it's worked properly ever since.
  18. Gemini Sierra Pre-emptive Salvage Specialist

    Member Since:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Message Count:
    1,363
    Reputation:
    46
    One thing I have noticed is that if you are close to something on the left side of the horse, you won't dismount.

Share This Page

Users found this page by searching for:

  1. skyrim dismount horse

    ,
  2. skyrim dismount

    ,
  3. how to dismount in skyrim

    ,
  4. skyrim how to dismount,
  5. skyrim horse dismount,
  6. how do you dismount a horse in skyrim,
  7. how to get off a horse in skyrim xbox,
  8. skyrim how to dismount a horse,
  9. dismounting in skyrim,
  10. how to get off horse skyrim