1. Welcome to Skyrim Forums. You totally should register so you can experience everything our community offers. We have various resources related to Skyrim which include a massive array of Guides and Tutorials. If you're here just for the discussion you can check out our General Skyrim Discussion section or if you're here for help you can check out our Skyrim Help section. We also have the latest Skyrim News and fun stuff like Roleplaying and even a Skyrim Fan Fiction section!

    Are you here to discuss Dawnguard? You may discuss it by signing up and checking out this section.

    So if you love Skyrim you should join for sure. Click the 'Sign Up' button on the right to register your account. You can register with your Facebook or Steam account.

How do I dismount a horse?

Discussion in 'General Skyrim Discussion' started by Hawst, Nov 21, 2011.

  1. Hawst

    Hawst New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Reputation:
    0
    I know this is a totally stupid newb question that I will get beat up endlessly for asking, But I am at the end of my patience.

    So, I got a horse... how do I get off the horse? lol
    • Like Like x 1
    Evina likes this.
  2. Kasha

    Kasha Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    216
    Reputation:
    4
    What you do is, walk up to it, kill it, then walk away. If your already on the on the horse and find that its crap and handles worst than a shopping cart, just run it towards anything that hates you, and hope that it kills it. btw are you playing on PC or Console?
  3. Deadhand

    Deadhand PLEASE DON'T EAT THOSE SOCKS!

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    326
    Reputation:
    9
    A on 360, X on PS3, and I believe R on PC... Need verification on the PC though. Haven't gotten a horse on my PC copy. No worries about the question; I for the longest time didn't know the bumpers allowed for fast movement on the number scroll bars, when selecting a quantity or amount of time. Drove me nuts because I knew there had to be a way, and I didn't know how... Haha.
  4. Hawst

    Hawst New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Reputation:
    0
    Sorry, on an xbox 360
  5. Hawst

    Hawst New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Reputation:
    0
    Any tips?
  6. Kasha

    Kasha Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2011
    Messages:
    216
    Reputation:
    4
    A on a 360 but just avoid horses all together, you'll get there faster by running, plus they ride like they have rigor mortis
  7. Ebony Knight

    Ebony Knight Lore Sword

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2011
    Messages:
    616
    Reputation:
    20
    WHAAAAAATTT!?!?!?! I had no idea of this! lol

    Side note the only thing i really use my horse for is mountain climbing......and a distraction against dragon priests >:)
  8. Flamingtaco

    Flamingtaco Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2011
    Messages:
    562
    Reputation:
    3
    The same button as getting on it. Activate button. And don't avoid horses, they are much faster than running and the animations are some of the est horse animations in a game.
  9. Ozzy Osbourne

    Ozzy Osbourne New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Reputation:
    0
    Tried this and it doesn't work. 'E' activates and gets you mounted, but does absolutely nothing once you're astride. Looks like Kasha is pretty much bang on, unless anyone knows of a dismount method that actually works. I've had to dismount both horses I've ridden by walking them over cliffs.
  10. Panthera

    Panthera Don Gato

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    927
    Location:
    Southern Europe
    Reputation:
    51
    Like somebody before said it use the same button as you mount it. You are probablly next to some wall or something unable to dismount it... you need to have free space at side to dismount it.
  11. Teritus

    Teritus Giving it to you straight since 1869

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    Messages:
    850
    Reputation:
    95
    Horses are faster than running, unless you're super agile and have light armour. And they are VERY useful for mountain climbing.
  12. Gemini Sierra

    Gemini Sierra Pre-emptive Salvage Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,363
    Reputation:
    46
    Yup, the same way you mount the horse is the way you dismount. The activate key/button.

    I started riding horses on my adventures because they are faster in the sprint than I am. My poor follower must be hating me. LOL
  13. Panthera

    Panthera Don Gato

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    927
    Location:
    Southern Europe
    Reputation:
    51
    lol Don Quixote
  14. Ozzy Osbourne

    Ozzy Osbourne New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Reputation:
    0
    I'll try again, but I definitely tried away from any obstacles. I was cantering all around the outside of Whiterun hitting every button on my keyboard, including 'E', and the only buttons that did anything were a - s - d - w for direction and the space bar to rear and whinny. I'll experiment extensively later today and see if I can find anything that works, but I'm pretty sure I exhausted most options yesterday. Again, 'E' - the activate button - did not dismount me after numerous tries in numerous locations.
  15. Panthera

    Panthera Don Gato

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    927
    Location:
    Southern Europe
    Reputation:
    51
    I've changed controls... for me is "F" activating button and "space bar" for jumping... so I can't tell you what button really.
  16. Ozzy Osbourne

    Ozzy Osbourne New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Reputation:
    0
    I haven't changed a thing, all my settings are default. I'm gonna try 'R' again in case I somehow missed it and it works - but I'll be very surprised if this proves to be the case.
  17. Ozzy Osbourne

    Ozzy Osbourne New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    22
    Reputation:
    0
    Well apparently 'E' does work after all. I don't know why it wasn't working that time outside of Whiterun; it's worked properly ever since.
  18. Gemini Sierra

    Gemini Sierra Pre-emptive Salvage Specialist

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    1,363
    Reputation:
    46
    One thing I have noticed is that if you are close to something on the left side of the horse, you won't dismount.

Share This Page

Users found this page by searching for:

  1. skyrim dismount horse

    ,
  2. skyrim dismount

    ,
  3. how to dismount a horse in skyrim

    ,
  4. dismount horse skyrim,
  5. how to dismount in skyrim,
  6. skyrim horse dismount,
  7. dismount skyrim,
  8. how to get off a horse in skyrim,
  9. how to dismount skyrim,
  10. skyrim how to dismount horse