1. Welcome to Skyrim Forums. You totally should register so you can experience everything our community offers. We have various resources related to Skyrim which include a massive array of Guides and Tutorials. If you're here just for the discussion you can check out our General Skyrim Discussion section or if you're here for help you can check out our Skyrim Help section. We also have the latest Skyrim News and fun stuff like Roleplaying and even a Skyrim Fan Fiction section!

    Are you here to discuss Dawnguard? You may discuss it by signing up and checking out this section.

    So if you love Skyrim you should join for sure. Click the 'Sign Up' button on the right to register your account. You can register with your Facebook or Steam account.

Help with modding

Discussion in 'Skyrim Mods' started by liam, Dec 1, 2011.

  1. liam New Member

    Member Since:
    Dec 1, 2011
    Message Count:
    1
    Reputation:
    0
    I got my hands on skyrim from a friend who downloaded the game for free(shock horror) and now don't know if i'll be able to run any mod's because of this. Everything i've seen (tutorial's for installing mod's) has to be run through steam which i do not have in my skyrim files as it is downloaded rather than bought. I have a "data" folder but when i extract mod's there it does not appear to have any effect in game. Any idea's?? Please and thank you :)
  2. Finalchrono Time Bandit

    Member Since:
    Nov 28, 2011
    Message Count:
    615
    Reputation:
    19
    You have to enable them through the launcher for one thing. Once you have them in the data folder you have to click "Data Files" and check mark them. If your "Data Files" is greyed out then you add "bEnableFileSelection=1" to your Skyrimprefs.ini (the one located in your my documents/skyrim folder) file under "Launcher". It's the same way you would do it with steam, I would guess.
  3. THEE3R1C New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Message Count:
    1
    Reputation:
    0
    My Data Files Are greyed out and In my Skyrimprefs.ini has that "bEnableFileSelection=1" in it. Is there somthing i can do so i can mod my Skyrim?
  4. ModernAndroid New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Message Count:
    3
    Reputation:
    0
    I think you might have the same issue I did. I found 2 skyrim prefs. The first one (the one you likely found) is in your installation directory I bet. The one you need to find and fix to mod is in User/MyDocuments/MyGames/Skyrim/skyrimprefs. The line you'll need to edit is about half way down rather than at the bottom, and it will be accompanied with some other lines. It's still under Launcher though. I hope this will help.
    • Friendly Friendly x 1
  5. Blackmist723 Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Message Count:
    1
    Location:
    Fremont, Nebraska
    Reputation:
    0
    I did what you suggested and got the data files option to become available but for some reason i can't find the mod i put in the data file on the list. Any help? Midas Magic mod
  6. ModernAndroid New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Message Count:
    3
    Reputation:
    0
    So you un-rared it, then put the bsa and esp files into the Data folder? If not make sure you use winrar (or something similar) to unrar it, then go into the data file and put the bsa and esp (the only 2 files in it) into the data folder. If you did that and it's not working, then I have no idea what went wrong. Maybe you just have a corrupted version of the file. What I would ultimately suggest is going to the Skyrim Nexus, downloading their mod manager, and then getting Midas Magic from their site. The Nexus mod manager makes using mods a lot easier.
  7. Nerraw One Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Message Count:
    31
    Reputation:
    0
    I'm in similar situation. Had Skyrim in Xbox, and just git new quad PC. I have some mods from steam and curse. I haven't been able to use mod manager.U haven't been able to find skyrim data files. Need help installing mod manager correctly.
  8. CreationKit New Member

    Member Since:
    Apr 26, 2012
    Message Count:
    8
    Reputation:
    0
    The benefits of buying a real copy ;)
  9. Nerraw One Member

    Member Since:
    Jan 26, 2012
    Message Count:
    31
    Reputation:
    0
    I did buy a copy. I need sine help with mod manager . I'm liking the game even more on PC!
  10. ModernAndroid New Member

    Member Since:
    Mar 27, 2012
    Message Count:
    3
    Reputation:
    0
    My Skyrim isn't on steam, but I've got oblivion on steam. My oblivion files are saved at "C:\ProgramFiles(x86)\Steam\steamapps\common\oblivion". Just go into Skyrim instead and you should find the data file. Also, when the Nexus manager is active, you can rescan for the location of the correct location of your data file. Click the arrow to the side of the circular arrow titled "Change game mode", choose rescan installed games, and it will automatically attempt to find the location of your saved games. It should have also done this during initial installation. Alternatively, you can go into the manager's settings, click the Skyrim tab, and manually select the location of your game's saved location.
    Nerraw One likes this.
  11. Richard Costello New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 15, 2012
    Message Count:
    1
    Reputation:
    0
    I am also having this problem but i found the skyrimprefs and looked in it but the line is already there.... and i looked around in my whole folder and i cant find another one or anything even close. =(
  12. Win New Member

    Member Since:
    Jul 20, 2012
    Message Count:
    6
    Reputation:
    0
    can someone make a tutorial for mac how to put mod

Share This Page

Users found this page by searching for:

  1. enable skyrim mods without launcher