Xbox 360 First post. Spell blade help

• Welcome to Skyrim Forums! Register now to participate using the 'Sign Up' button on the right. You may now register with your Facebook or Steam account!

Renthius

Hey guys...So I just finnaly got skyrim..I know Im way late. Anyways Im just starting out and im Rolling a high-Elf spell Blade. Im thinking 1 handed heavy armor Destro Restoration and Conjuring. Also my others Ill pump perks into are enchant and alchemy and either illusion or alteration. But which Is better Illusion or Alteration. Also does the rest of my build seem ok. From what I gathered you can play all too your licking and you wont be dwarfed but I just want to make sure Im not totally nerfing myself or anything. Thx ahead of time guys, PLz help

halcyondaiz

Finder of Warm Sands
Hmm, when I go spell blade, I always use a build like this:
High Elf/Dark Elf

1 handed

Light Armor (for speed & mobility because heavy armor slows you down until you've got at least skill level of 70 to earn the perk to make heavy armor weightless)

destruction

Restoration

Alchemy

Enchanting

Alteration

& then supplement it all with the Lover's Stone

I like the flesh spells you get under the alteration school. However, if you like the idea of using fear/frenzy for crowd control and to break up a mob, then by all means, invest in illusion.

It basically boils down to how you want to play, really. Spell blades are about flexibility, being able to easily shift between spell and blade, so illusion might buy you some time while they flee to regain health/mana. However, if you play offensively like I do, a cast of Oakflesh and you're good for a few more hits, which may be all that boss needs to crumble to the floor in defeat.

Conjuration? I don't use it much as a spell blade. That's just me. I find the primary skills to focus on are one handed weaponry and destruction, followed by light armor and illusion.