PS3 Critical Performance Improvement

• Welcome to Skyrim Forums! Register now to participate using the 'Sign Up' button on the right. You may now register with your Facebook or Steam account!

georgeleus

Frost trolls are gay.
Hello all,

I've been playing Skyrim on my PS3 for about 4 months now and just the other day my experience has changed dramatically; in performance terms.
You all know how laggy the game is at the loading screens and even when you enter your own home or open any kind of door the blank screen appears and makes you wait for about 15 seconds. Nasty.

Well after being fed up with the seldom crashes (well, stalls to be exactly), I've researched the problem a little and on another forum someone suggested to turn off the autosave feature. Deffinitely.

Now besides the fact that the game didn't stall at all at loading screens, I've found out that the actually time spent at this screens has diminished. Dramatically.

On my PS3 the result is as follows:

BEFORE:
- enhanced loading screen (the one with pictures and story) : 40 seconds.
- standard loading screen (blank) : 15 seconds.

AFTER:
- enhanced loading screen : ~15 seconds.
- standard loading screen : ~5 seconds.

It's certainly a pleasure playing the game now.

Cheers !

Sean

lost somewhere
Same thing on Xbox, also autosave will always end up making your save bloat, and if the file size gets too large, the game will lag/freeze a lot.

So, (for consoles) it is recommended to always disable autosave, as it really is unsafe.

Hello all,

I've been playing Skyrim on my PS3 for about 4 months now and just the other day my experience has changed dramatically; in performance terms.
You all know how laggy the game is at the loading screens and even when you enter your own home or open any kind of door the blank screen appears and makes you wait for about 15 seconds. Nasty.