1. Welcome to Skyrim Forums. You totally should register so you can experience everything our community offers. We have various resources related to Skyrim which include a massive array of Guides and Tutorials. If you're here just for the discussion you can check out our General Skyrim Discussion section or if you're here for help you can check out our Skyrim Help section. We also have the latest Skyrim News and fun stuff like Roleplaying and even a Skyrim Fan Fiction section!

    Are you here to discuss Dawnguard? You may discuss it by signing up and checking out this section.

    So if you love Skyrim you should join for sure. Click the 'Sign Up' button on the right to register your account. You can register with your Facebook or Steam account.

Black Book: Waking Dreams Glitch

Discussion in 'Dragonborn DLC' started by RocksThrowME, Jan 23, 2013.

  1. RocksThrowME

    RocksThrowME New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Reputation:
    0
    Last night I was playing Dragon Born on the xbox 360 and I was on the final quest. I was told to read the black book waking dreams and when I go to read it I don't teleport to a other realm. I just stare at the first page and can't do anything but close the book. I cannot continue the quest. I am in Sothiem and I tried all the other books and they work fine. Please help! My gamer tag is Rocks Throw Me.
  2. RocksThrowME

    RocksThrowME New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Reputation:
    0
    Can anyone help me?
  3. Tryn

    Tryn Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Reputation:
    0
    I can't recall which one this is. Is it the book with 3 holes in it? If so, it may not be obvious, but there are somewhat brighter areas being projected above each hole which allow you to pick your reward.
  4. RocksThrowME

    RocksThrowME New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Reputation:
    0
    No... It's the book in your inventory you get from temple of Miraak. You read it to go fight Miraak in the last part of the main quest. I tried deleting the DLC and redownloading it. I have no more ideas on how to fix it myself.
  5. Tryn

    Tryn Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2012
    Messages:
    140
    Reputation:
    0
    Hmm... the only thing I can think of is have you learned the previous word of power you were given? Perhaps that's a qualification to continue.
  6. RocksThrowME

    RocksThrowME New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2013
    Messages:
    4
    Reputation:
    0
    I have all the words of power for Bend Will which is the only requirement. My quest log says to read the book, and when I do, nothing happens.
  7. DontTreadOnKYLE

    DontTreadOnKYLE New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Reputation:
    0
    I just now reached this point in the Dragonborn DLC quest line and am having the same exact issue. I have the 5 black books and when I ready them it'll take me to the appropriate part of Apocrypha, except when I read Waking Dreams. It just opens the first page of the book and nothing triggers. I'm not transported anywhere. Has anyone confirmed a solution to this glitch? Can anything be done to trigger what is supposed to happen or does loading an older save and playing back to this point work?
  8. Guptah

    Guptah Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Warrington, Warrington
    Reputation:
    0
    Having exactly the same issue and no-one seems to have the answer also getting a bit fed up with the Bethesda customer service they take me for some kind of mug
  9. aurelian

    aurelian New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Reputation:
    0
    me too..... frustrating. Anyone have a workaround? Previous save is not happening..
  10. aurelian

    aurelian New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Reputation:
    0
    ok i got it.. just remove the item and add it back -

    player.removeitem 04016e22 1
    player.additem 04016e22 1

    (first 2 digits of id# depends on how many expansions you have)
    Skyrim: Dragonborn – PC Console Item Codes | GameFront

    cheers~
  11. ShenziSixaxis

    ShenziSixaxis Article Writer

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    847
    Reputation:
    68
    The OP gave his gamer tag, so I doubt that he's playing on PC and can use the console command.

    DB's glitchy as hell and even after being out for two months, most glitches don't have a good fix yet. I did some googling and couldn't find any answers; people with the same issue, but no answers, just like a lot of other DB glitches.
  12. Guptah

    Guptah Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Warrington, Warrington
    Reputation:
    0
    For what they have been worth, I have been in contact with Bethesda support over this matter and other than the obvious troubleshooting tips I have followed, they have asked me to wait 30 in game days and start a side quest in one of the 9 holds and search around for 15-30 mins apparently this will reset the code and sort out the problem. good luck
  13. JClarke1953

    JClarke1953 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,646
    Reputation:
    189
    I've had that problem too, mostly when my char is "too tired to fight". After several more tries, I decided to go back to before I picked up the Book, and began again. This time, I didn't let all the weirdness distract me, and I was able to get thrust okay.

    I've found that if there's a glitch in some place, the best thing to do is to begin again before you started the quest, job, dungeon etc.
    • Like Like x 1
    ShenziSixaxis likes this.
  14. DrunkenMage

    DrunkenMage Intoxicated Arch-Mage

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2012
    Messages:
    5,411
    Reputation:
    1,897
    I've been quite lucky having very few glitches with Dragon born. Except the occasional loading a cell and suddenly falling through the floor. Happened to me in the house of the leader of Raven Rock. I saved myself on that one because I saw it then jumped on this little thing that was still solid, then proceeded to jump around until I could reach the door to exit. Kind of hard to explain from a role play stand point. The sudden removal of the laws of physics.

    Haven't experienced this Waking Dreams glitch, sounds like it really sucks.
  15. JClarke1953

    JClarke1953 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,646
    Reputation:
    189
    I had a weird one happen when forging the Gauldar Amulet. One of them shouted at my char, and the next thing I know, it's in space, spinning and whirling. When I finally land, I had fallen down some kind of hole or so,etching, but ended up where the entrance/exit is.

    I had loosed my Dremore Lord's just before, and by the time I ran back, it was about over, and of course the gate was still down. Fortunately, I was able to get Lydia to open it so we could finish. I searched all over for where I got Shouted into or through, but wasn't able to.
  16. Guptah

    Guptah Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Warrington, Warrington
    Reputation:
    0
    Bethesda asked me to complete the dragonborn dlc with a brand new character.... what a ridiculous request. Iv since demanded a refund and threatened them with trading standards and they have apologised and offered me a refund.. Result.
  17. Gowsh

    Gowsh Old Fart

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    329
    Location:
    Southfield, MI
    Reputation:
    16
    Trading standards?

    I'm unfamiliar with the term. Why are these (apparently) the magic words?

    Thanks much.
  18. Guptah

    Guptah Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Warrington, Warrington
    Reputation:
    0
    Sorry its a British thing they are a company that monitor products and are there for the consumer they are very good at dishing out bad press if the consumer has a problem they big companies especially just overlook and basically tell you to get lost. Sure you will have something simalar where you are.
  19. JClarke1953

    JClarke1953 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,646
    Reputation:
    189
    Not unless things are really bad. I've not looked into it, but I kind of doubt much can be done short of a class action lawsuit.

    Thing is, under what heading or wording would it go as? It has bug's/glitches? A lot of games do, but, most if not all generally have fixes out, and most of the time more than one.

    It seems Bethesda is more interested in the $$ than putting out a quality game, that IS ready, and that fixes are worked on or prepared when they get word of various problems. Especially since so many have the same problems in this game.
  20. Gowsh

    Gowsh Old Fart

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    329
    Location:
    Southfield, MI
    Reputation:
    16
    Yeah, it seems clear that they either just don't test a number of things or don't pay attention to their testers.

    When you introduce a new weapon that can't be placed on a rack or mounted, you haven't tested well.

Share This Page